George Lucas Saves His Daughter From Drowning

Sitting in church this week I had a very new experience. As a parent of small children most of my worship services revolve around keeping children quiet and peaceful. As captivating as close examination of new toys and the occasional loud bangs made when hitting said toys against the floor are, I found myself peering around the sanctuary for something of greater interest. In St. Paul’s Bloor Street the beauty fills the worship space and there was no shortage of visual cues that captured my interest.

 

 

Pictures from Panoramic Tour of St Pauls Bloor Street @ http://www.stpaulsbloor.org/tour/stpauls_5.html. Presumably copyright St Pauls Bloor Street.

What caught my eye was a plaque on the wall of the church. The walls of the sanctuary are covered with plaques made out in memory of loved ones who presumably were members of the church. One plaque is particular made my heart leap– George Lucas–the same name as the famous creator of Star Wars.

I chuckled a little, in my head, and wondered if the owner of that name would have ever known how famous and important it would be in the future. Then I read the plaque a little further

 

Screen Shot 2016-07-24 at 3.49.32 PM

Ottawa Citizen, September 6, 1932. Google News Archive Search

Courage and strength in abundance. It is hard to imagine holding anyone above the surface for an extended period of time, never mind how difficult it must have been to do so until the last vestige of strength was gone.

George Lucas, the name of the creator of Star Wars and far more importantly the name of a man who gave his life to save his little girl Betty Jane.

Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends. – John 15.13

Leave a comment