Welcome to Toronto

 

Many of you have heard about the extremely long and exciting journey that it took to get to Toronto. The hours of rock, swamp and trees led to the solid conclusion that every farm boy must reflect upon–this isn’t good ground for crop.

The journey was daunting, and exhausting, entering into Toronto one felt a palpable sense of relief of all of us. Unfortunately the other guys would only stay for a day and then head home–but for me at least there was rest.

I have to admit that going along the 401 deeper and deeper into Toronto was a time for sober second thoughts. As the high rises grew higher and more numerous–and the traffic grew more frantic–I wondered what in the world I have been thinking. “Toronto, really? There is so many people.” In the days since it has been hard to shake the feeling of a holiday, that in a few days or weeks it would all be over and we would go home.

Yet here we are: everything is moved in now and it is a gift to be here. As I was discussing what brought me to Wycliffe I couldn’t help but think “bolt from the blue.” Two years ago I knew absolutely nothing about the school and had no interest in moving to Toronto.

As I reflect on the last few weeks I can’t help but give the last words to Bilbo Baggins.

“It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.”

 

 

 

Map_of_the_Hobbit

Bag’s End, Illustrated by John Howe

Leave a comment